top of page
  • Writer's pictureKat

How to put GOALS into ACTION

Updated: Aug 20, 2018


We gain more success at reaching our goals if we concentrate less on the GOAL and more on the SYSTEM.


To learn more about attaining #GOALS I am following a man called James Clear. A highly respected author of articles and newsletters on the question of ‘How can we live better?’. He is followed by hundreds of thousands of people. He studies successful people and psychology to understand how we can build positive routines and habits in our lives. See his fantastic webpage at jamesclear.com

What is the difference between a GOAL and a SYSTEM?


The goal is your aim, your desired outcome. The system is the planned steps you will take to reach that goal. The goal is important for sure, but it is by focusing on the system, on each step as it comes, that will bring you the most success.


Examples:

  • If your goal is to loose weight, your system is your nutrition and training plan for the month

  • If your goal is to learn a subject, your system is your study structure for the month


My goal and system


The science behind goal and habit setting is new to me. I am putting what I read into action now as I write these posts. So this will be a journey for me. My skills of self-motivation and self regulation over an extended period tend to waiver. I reach goals on a short term basis but have a poor record at sustaining the consistency required to reach longer term goals.


For me my goal is to create this website. My goal is to collate my own experiences, along with thorough research on how we can live happier lives into multiple useful posts. If I concentrate too much on this goal it seems huge and I feel overwhelmed. So I need to make a plan and put in a system to follow.


My plan is to read about and write content to add to the site every week. My system is to write 2 articles a week, one every Monday and one every Thursday. Also to read for at least 30 minutes 3 days a week (Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday) to increase my knowledge.


I am willing to sacrifice at least 30 mins a day on this system (what are you willing to sacrifice to reach your goal?). I will concentrate on each day as it comes, instead of concentrating on the end goal. If I concentrate and stick to this system by 6 months I will have over 50 posts published and will have read various books and studies and increased my knowledge on a subject that is important to me.


Setting my upper bound


When planning your system it is important to set an upper bound (as James Clear discusses here) to avoid 'burning out'. This upper bound will help you avoid the ‘all or nothing’ approach which can prove detrimental to sustaining long term progress.


To ensure I don’t go over the top with my goal, burn out and just stop, I will set myself an upper bound as well as a lower bound. So using James approach I have created these statements for my reading and writing days:

I will read for at least 30 minutes today, but not more than 1 hour
I will write at least 500 words today, but not more than 1,500

Choose moderately challenging tasks for your system


It is important that the tasks we set ourselves are challenging but controllable. They should use and challenge our skills, but not go past our current ability. If a task is too easy we will get bored, and if it is too hard we will become frustrated and demotivated. If the goal tasks you need to complete are beyond your current skill set, don't panic! you can create sub goals and tasks that can help you increase your skills over time. Take you time, plan it out step by step and concentrate on the system day by day!


Bonus Example of a Goal and System


· The Goal is to loose 6 kg

· The Plan to start exercising

· The System is the workout schedule - Swimming on a Tuesday and Gym class on a Thursday

· The lower and upper bounds are: “I will workout for at least 2 times a week, but no more than 4 times a week”

The individual just needs to concentrate on the system. Over time this will build healthy habits, fitness and the goal of loss of weight.


Practical questions to help you set your goal and system

  • My GOAL is to ________________________________

  • My general PLAN to reach my goal is to ________________________________

  • My step by step SYSTEM to carry out my plan will be __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • My upper and lower boundaries will be ___________________________________________

Fill in your answers, create your system and good luck!

1 comment
bottom of page