top of page
  • Writer's pictureKat

GOALS - Just DO

Updated: Aug 13, 2018

Taking that first step can be the hardest. However it is only by DOing that you start to create flow. If you have ideas and dreams but haven't taken that first practical step to make them real, then this is relevant to you.



A few nights ago in bed I read from a book I'd picked up at the Design Museum in London. I was with a dear friend, a man who always inspires me to be better and do more so this book caught my eye. The chapter was called ‘Creative Doing, Not Creative Thinking’

“When you move, a lot happens. You see things from a different angle. The light falls differently, different sounds reach you, you touch a different surface or feel a different movement of air, with a different scent or temperature. You receive a wealth of new information. When you move, you shift your point of view.”

The author was writing about physical movement in workshops, but this also sings to me of everyday life. If you are someone who has ideas and dreams that you haven't got round to, I hope this post helps you take that first step, however small it may seem, it will be a very important one.


By changing our routine and doing something different, something new, we open ourselves up to a new perspectives and new pathways.


Struck a chord


The chapter held a mirror up to me as I have been hesitant (for different reasons) to put my thoughts into actions. I resolved I must make a move to DO before I started reading again (hence this post now exists). The theory is if we put too much attention on creative thinking we run the risk of rarely get round to actually DOing anything about it. It struck a chord with me because in recent years I have become one of life’s great procrastinators. I talk about great ideas and imagine the finished article, the people I will help, the change I will make, the contentment and glory!!! but I rarely get round to taking that first step and DOing it.


So this is me DOing. And playing. To play, to have fun. Fun helps create new ideas, perspectives and opportunities. Practical steps can show you what works and what doesn't, without them it's just all theory. So instead of just dreaming, it’s time to take that first practical step and create the site, write the words and focus on DOing. Flow will start when you start to DO…that’s the message.


Since starting to DO I have rewritten this post and redesigned the site a few times and I will be honest it has taken me a while. BUT it wasn't until I started putting my thoughts into action that my ideas have had a chance to evolve. I have changed the site so that it's easier to navigate, rewritten the post so it's more concise and had further ideas on how I should layout the big picture. None of these things would have happened if I hadn't had taken that first step.


My next post will look at how to plan the continuation of this site in a way that creates more #flow. It has take me a long time to even publish my first 2 posts. If I want to 'keep the ball rolling' I will need to employ some habit tactics I have been reading about online. See my next post on how to put goals into action here

0 comments
bottom of page